Changes to Chief of Staff at SLMHC

Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre’s (SLMHC) Chief of Staff, Dr. Barbara Russell-Mahoney, will be stepping down from her role next month.

“During the course of her tenure, Dr. Russell-Mahoney has been instrumental in leading significant change, including the implementation of a more shared physician leadership model,” says Heather Lee, President and CEO of SLMHC. “We want to thank Dr. Russell-Mahoney for her hard work and dedication as a leader to the organization, vision, our values, our physicians, and all of our clients and patients.”

SLMHC’s Board of Directors and Senior Executive would like to welcome Dr. Laurel Laakso to the role of Interim Chief of Staff, beginning May 2021. Dr. Laakso is a family physician who has worked in Sioux Lookout since 2018. Her clinical practice in the region has included work in the emergency department, specialty clinics, day medicine, and northern First Nation communities. Prior to accepting the position of Interim Chief of Staff, Dr. Laakso served in the role of Chief of Long-Term Care, where she played a key role in promoting excellence of care for the Elders in hospital awaiting long-term care.

“Dr. Laakso is committed to the mission, vision and values of SLMHC, and in particular to the pursuit of excellence in health care for First Nations and northern Ontario communities in order to see improved wholeness, health and healing for the region,” says Lee.