SLMHC awarded 2022 OAMRS Team Award

Members of Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre’s Diagnostic Imaging team.

Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre’s (SLMHC) Diagnostic Imaging team is this year’s 2022 Ontario Association of Medical Radiation Sciences (OAMRS) Team Award winner.

The OAMRS award criteria states, “The 2022 OAMRS Team Award is presented to the team that exemplifies the importance of working together to achieve fantastic results. The award recognizes teams that embrace the spirit of collaboration and working together to provide optimal patient care. This award celebrates a team’s hard work, collaboration, creativity, and success.”

Arianna Kitching, medical radiation technologist (MRT), nominated the Diagnostic Imaging team for the award. Kitching says the award nomination was a chance to recognize the teams’ dedication to high-quality patient care.

“I thought it would be a great opportunity to nominate our team, especially with the work we’ve done throughout the pandemic to continue improving services for our patients. Everyone was really excited, and it provided a good boost for our team.”

SLMHC’s Diagnostic Imaging team provides full diagnostic services. In-patient, emergency and out-patient services include radiography, fluoroscopy, ultrasound, mammography, and CT scanning. Kitching says their team is not only talented, but strives to provide patients with care that is both top-notch and accessible.

“We provide a lot of services to Northern communities, which I thought should be commemorated. We do put a lot of effort into how we treat our patients here. We really try to ease their travel requirements by booking multiple appointments for our patients, and we do our best to learn other languages to help translate,” says Kitching. “I think it really recognizes how much work one department can do. We provide x-ray, CT, and mammography services, so it really showcases how we’re multi-trained within our team.”

For more information on SLMHC’s full diagnostic services visit

The 2022 OAMRS Team Award is presented to Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre.